Ada Apa Dengan Filem Indonesia??

Golok_setan
I got a confession to make. I’m not much of a movie-goer. Don’t ask me about the upcoming movies or films because I’m not really in the loop. The only movies that will excite me are those connected to me like the recent The Transformers or those kinda movies which have provocative ideas and will challenge my brain like The Matrix Trilogy.

Recently, a friend got some extra free movie passes  and asked me to go to the movie for the ‘Guys’ Day Out’. It’s really nice of him for the thought but the title of the movie really disturbed me. It is another movie from our ‘friendly neighbour’, with the title that tells the whole world what it is all about…..: “Love is Cinta”

I know I should thank him for the free tickets but I have to say this to him….,

“..Dude,.. u gotta be kiddin me…”

Can you imagine a group of  guys watching that kind of movie? It’s not that I’m worried if we start holding hands after the movie or people might think we’re a mismatched-swap-gay couples. That’s not the issue because I don’t really give a shit what other people think.
The main issue  here is, i’m not going to spend almost 3 hours in that chilling and freezing cinema just to watch another ‘love-chick-flick’ from Indonesia.

The last time  I ‘watched’ an Indonesian movie was that ‘Ada Apa Dengan Cinta’. Not in cinema but in Mr B’s house with his pirated VCD.
First, i know i supposed to understand Bahasa Indonesia because of our similar lingua-franca thingy but I was wrong.Their language seems to be evolved.Totally different from what i used to hear before. Without any subtitles and translation, i cannot even understand a single word what they’re talking bout. All I can remember was that ‘Banget’ or ‘bangat’ word which later became so famous to be use among the Malay girls here

And  the movie is all about a guy who love to read and write poem?? …’Whow’!!, now that’s  a really “interesting” and “cool” thing for the guys to watch..(holy crap!!!)

The Result:..I didn’t  finish watching even half of the 1st VCD. I gave up

It’s not that I have this prejudice mind over Indonesian-thingy just because of some issues .Well.., we do have enough problems with those Indonesian immigrants and workers in Malaysia right now and at same time in Jakarta ,they burnt our flag in front of our embassy for whatever reasons. They also called Malaysia as ‘Maling’sia (robbers, thief) ,only because they think we stole ‘their’ Sipadan-Ligitan Islands . (like , hello.., what about Natuna Islands??duh.!!)
And they also have this policy to ‘filter’ Malaysian Art from entering their market.
Like I said before , I don’t have any grudge over that and  it is not  because of those issue that makes me soo reluctant to watch Indonesian movie.  (Coz’ i  know Malaysian Movies also  facing a big screw up right now)

Honestly, I just missed the good ol’ Indonesia movie in the 80’s.(Remember those VCR tape?)

I missed those Indonesian ‘s Silat or Laga Movies with a lot of fighting scene and action.
With macho actors and macho names like Barry Prima and Advent Bangun and many more. The movies had this ‘macho’ and awesome title like ‘Si Buta Dari  Gua Hantu’ ( The Blind from Cave of Ghost) , Jaka Sembung , Golok Setan ( The Devil’s Sword), Tarzan Rimba , or Pendekar Bukit Tengkorak (Warrior of Skull Hill).
It was a Silat plus kungfu flick.( Its like watching Crouching Tiger ,Hidden Dragon but in Silat version ) 
It’s always about good guys versus bad guys and they’ll fight in a bloody duel .It’s between life and death. It’s not so easy to whack the bad guys because they have this mystical power to make them so strong and immune from any sword. It takes a lot of courage and ‘power’ from the hero to kill them. The hero and the bad guys got awesome powers. They even can shoot some sort of laser or fireball with their bare hands
Plus they also can fly from a tree to another tree while fighting and swaying the sword.
And not to forget, those  sexy –helpless  bimbos and chicks in bikinis.
….Now, don’t you think that’s sound like a real movie for  guys???

The sad thing is now they didn’t make that kind of  movies anymore and because of that. it doesn’t make any sense for the guys to watch Indonesian movies.

I got  better idea on what to do with those free movie passes. I told him to save it for his girlfriends (Read: Plural!) or he can just give them out to all our married buddies. Well  they might hate it but i’m sure their wives will appreciate it. 

So, for that day, instead of going for the movie, we skipped the movie thing and we had a friendly game of snooker. With packs of cigarettes , icy cold soda and hard rock music at the back, it was the best way to spend our day out. The guy’s way…

Artist : Lostprophets
"Shinobi Vs. Dragon Ninja"- 2001

Got it all too high
Got it figured out,
I wanna do whatever
Laugh until september
And I seem to think that you were once here with me
Maybe I was wrong
U were moving on
And I sit and wonder
Falling under
Get my way or nothing will move on
Everyone has gone
You feel so empty, but I’ve got me a friend
And I like it
And I know u say I can’t care for someone
But are you that clever that you smile forever?
If it summer yeah…
Coz I just don’t feel it
Baby its a treaty
Maybe you are not her
And I sit and wonder, falling under
Get my way or nothing will move on
Everyone has gone.
You feel so empty, but I’ve got me a friend
And I like it, ooooooh!
Say now, got it for all of me
How do I?

P/S:  Their new album sucks big time..totally..no more hard moshing-diving music.

 

2 Responses to “Ada Apa Dengan Filem Indonesia??”

  1. k-e, u ni memang tak hopeless romantic la..i think most of guys cam tu..my brother once tido kat cinema walaupun tgh dating tgk movie indon ngan awek..regarding ‘Ada apa dengan cinta’,cute ape rangga tu..pandai tulis poem,jiwang karat..best banget!cair sihh..kehkehkeh

  2. Dear Mr K-e.You articulated provocative remarks here.Really sarcastic.:)You see,I put a primary photo with that ‘AKU’ book.Even if you did not mean to insult me,I feel offended by your neglecting-sensitivity ideas.See, the mind-set of the male and female sapiens are different.We never condemned kaum Adam childish taste and interests. To be named a few, their passion towards those Transformer Autobots,anime,collecting action figure and etc.So why you should condemn the women fondness towards those chick-flick movies?

Leave a Reply

